2010 Hot Springs National Park Quarter

Hot Springs America the Beautiful Quarter

The 2010 Hot Springs National Park Quarter was the first release of the America the Beautiful Quarters Program. The new series of circulating quarter dollars features National Parks and sites from around the country in the order federally designated. One location has been selected from each of the 50 states, 5 U.S. territories, and District of Columbia to be featured on a unique reverse design.

The design for the Hot Springs Quarter features the ornate facade of the main park building. One of park’s many fountains appears in the foreground of the image. The inscriptions read “Hot Springs”, “Arkansas”, ” E Pluribus Unum”, and the date “2010”. The reverse was designed by Don Everhart and sculpted by Joseph Menna.

On the obverse of the coin is a portrait of George Washington, originally designed by John Flanagan for the 1932 Washington Quarter. The original details have been restored following the small modifications made during more than seven decades of continuous use on the quarter dollar. This obverse will be used for all coins of the series.

The Hot Springs Quarter was released into circulation on April 19, 2010 with an official launch ceremony held at the park on the following day. The United States Mint also offered an assortment of products which included the quarter such as numismatic bags, rolls, and various sets.

About Hot Springs National Park

Visitors Center at Hot Springs National ParkEven before Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas became a destination for vacations and relaxation, it was  visited by many people, including Native Americans in prehistoric times, in order to experience the rejuvenating feeling of the warm water that bubbled from the earth rich in minerals. Many crude bathhouses built of logs were built around this Arkansas town after it became part of the United States in the Louisiana Purchase of 1803, in order to better provide a place for people to change and relax in the water.

Because people recognized the value of the hot springs as a tourist attraction, they sought the government’s help in preserving its natural beauty. In 1832 President Andrew Jackson signed the legislation that would prevent anyone from building or developing on the land in or around the hot springs by designating the area as a national reservation. This made the Arkansas Hot Springs one of the oldest federally designated sites in the entire country, even older than Yellowstone which would not be dedicated until forty years later. Hot Springs Reservation became Hot Springs National Park in 1921 by an act of Congress.

In May of 1933, H. Raymond Gregg was selected to be the first ever policeman of the Hot Springs National Park. He was extremely proficient in science, especially botany, and actually performed the duties of the Park’s first naturalist, a tradition that lives on today.

Hot Springs National Park Quarter Launch Ceremony

The United States Mint hosted a launch ceremony for the Hot Springs National Park Quarter on April 20, 2010. The ceremony was attended by United States Mint Director Edmund Moy, National Park Service Midwest Regional Director Ernie Quintana, and Hot Springs National Park Superintendent Josie Fernandez.

“With the launch of the Hot Springs National Park Quarter, a uniquely American journey begins, a journey through coins in celebration of the beauty, history and impact of national sites in every state and territory,” Director Moy said.

Following the ceremony, attendees were able to exchange currency for rolls of the new Hot Springs National Park Quarters. Children aged 18 and younger received a free quarter to commemorate the day.

More 2010 America the Beautiful Quarters